I’ve started a New Book


Blogging, Current State

Most of you know that at the beginning of the year I entered a contest (I’ve forgotten what the prizes are) called PostAWeek2011.  The more ambitious of my peers committed to PostADay2011.  This is really old news; the primary benefit is that it drives you to post, even when you don’t feel like it.  If you are any good, everyone benefits.

There have been days that I really didn’t feel like posting.  It is essentially a creative exercise and creativity cannot be turned on with a switch; hence, my declining the daily post challenge.  Having said that, I’ve posted 32 times so far this year (this is week 10) which I think is rather good.  It’s difficult to know how I am being received as I receive fewer comments from you my readers, than I’d like to see.  A little help here?

Lots of things going on; yesterday I returned Draft #2 of the Views from Sandhausen website design.  It wasn’t all that I had hoped. This was certainly not the fault of their team; it was my failure to more completely lay out my artistic desires, as I did with my technical requirements.  I mocked up my ideas with PowerPoint and sent them off to Mike at Smart Author Sites and expect feedback soon.  Something that hampered our progress was that, inexplicably, the eMails that they were sending to me weren’t arriving. Finally I sent them a note, and Kristin called back.  Now, I have probably seven eMail addresses.  Between them we’ve corrected the issue and are back on track.

I made progress with Lightning Source on a price reduction to the two print books.  On balance, their final size was a bit smaller that I had anticipated.  I made a commensurate price reduction. 

I’m shooting for a first week of April launch and you will hear more about this as time goes on.

Lastly, I’ve started a new short book on the general subject of blogging.  Ideas are still forming, I’ve built a structure, and the possibilities are endless as the subject is so open and increasingly popular.  Blogging is good for business. From that link, “A study of 2,300 HubSpot customers revealed that businesses that blog witness their monthly leads rise by 126% more than those who don’t.”  I urge you to read more of that post.  Ars Technica also discussed the growth in blogging, although the article’s title is somewhat misleading.  From seoSemantics we learn that “Blog is a platform managed by individuals for personal or official interests. The word ‘blog’ has been extracted from WEBLOG meaning website-blog. Blogs have revolutionized the information available on the internet.” I’m all about ‘bringing home the bacon’! Read the full article.

So, the time is right, the subject is new to 90% of the population, blogging is fundamental to a promising author, and I’ve learned many lessons along the way.  Currently, I’m planning to give it away free, to encourage my small ‘tribe’ to grow, subscribe to my blog, and buy the book.  Heady aspirations indeed!

Have a great day!

Cliff

Photo Credit: http://tiny.cc/1p4yi

One response to “I’ve started a New Book

  1. Great Idea…have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

