Another Sign of Moving to the Digital World


Good Day all…

How chapter frontpieces are formatted

EXTRA, EXTRA, the second draft of Views from Sandhausen’s interior has been received from Walt at Five Rainbows.  Here is the chapter start for the first chapter.  Please note that it incorporates the fountain stone from the fountain on the front cover of the book.  I can’t think of a better way to tie the book together!  Walt gets an Atta boy!

Tomorrow, I will send you an interior (text) page so that you can see how great the layout is.   Based on a thought from Matt Jacob, my Developmental Editor at EditmeFAST.com, we had the concept of an ‘email look’ in mind, given that it was in that format that Views were first written and distributed.  Other than a question that I’ve posed to Walt, this is our interior formatting.

 Yesterday and today, I wrote my second article for suite101.  The following is about that article.

Another Sign of Moving to the Digital World

Today I posted my second article to suite101.org under the subject line of this blog post.  Thus far, the suite101.com experience has been very satisfying, with my first article being accepted and posted immediately, and my second pots automatically posted upon receipt at suite101.org.

Here is a link to: Another Sign of Moving to the Digital World.  I hope you enjoy it! In less than 24 hours, 29 people have read my first piece Step by Step Self-Publishing: the Learning Revolution on Suite101.org.  As stated, revenue goes to suite 101 when a reader, drawn to my article, clicks on an ad, many of which ring the article.  Suite101 then gives me a cut of that commission.  I’m not going to get rich but at least I have some purpose.

To paraphrase from today’s article: “I believe that we are in the center of a digital “Perfect Storm”.  Today’s writer has an infinite workshop, stocked with word-processing, translation, and graphics tools.  The printing capability now commonly offered is amazing (I grew up with dot matrix).  The proofreader and/or Editor have Microsoft Word ‘track changes’, and can output in hundreds of document formats.  The Book Designer has Adobe ‘inDesign CSS’ or other high-end book interior design software, and, he has Photoshop to create cover images that require an expert to discern a difference from a real-life photograph.  The author, through his printing-house, can print one copy of his hard/soft cover book, or 10,000 to leverage (still existing) economies of scale.   Lastly, if you pick the correct Printing House, they will provide your interface to a global distribution network that includes your “Bricks and Mortar” book stores.  Your designer can also output your eBook, after additional formatting, into all of the standard eBook formats.

From a writer, design, printing and distribution standpoint, there are very few reasons why we writers in 2010 even need others at all.  Of course: The MAJOR exception is that we Need a good Developmental Editor and we Need a good Interior and Exterior Book Designer!  To not have either of these experts on your team is the most certain way to ruin!  If you want to be perceived as a Professional, you need to work with professionals.

 It is technically possible to write and eBook and have it for sale tomorrow, on Amazon and most of the other ‘bookstores’.  The independent bookstore of the past will not survive on the profits of (physical) books!  The Traditional Publishing House will not have the power they had even a few years ago.  This is nothing short of a Digital Renaissance!  The smart people connected to the literary community stand to make a very nice living going into the future.  Like the dinosaurs, the less smart will perish.”

Cliff

15 responses to “Another Sign of Moving to the Digital World

  1. Thanks for the kind words, Cliff.

    Chapter opening decorations are not always appropriate, but when I saw that fountain we used on the cover, I knew that some part of it would work for that purpose.

    On a note more related to your Suite101 article: you can find lots of information by using search engines (I prefer Startpage.com, since I refrain from using anything Googlish), the trick is to separate the wheat from the chaff. Unfortunately, the chaff far outweighs the wheat, so due diligence is called for.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Hey can I quote some of the content found in this post if I reference you with a link back to your site?scholarships for hispanics
    scholarships for moms

  3. hi I was luck to come cross your blog in wordpress
    your post is quality
    I obtain much in your topic really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really marvelous
    where can find it

  4. Hey! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info you might have right here on this post. I might be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  5. It’s exhausting to search out educated people on this topic, but you sound like you realize what you’re talking about! Thanks

  6. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and on no account seem to get something done.

  7. Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this website wants much more consideration. I’ll in all probability be once more to read much more, thanks for that info.

  8. Can I simply say what a aid to seek out someone who truly is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know the way to deliver an issue to mild and make it important. More people must learn this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre no more standard since you positively have the gift.

  9. Good post. I be taught one thing more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It can always be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and observe a little something from their store. I’d desire to use some with the content material on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  10. There are some fascinating time limits on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There’s some validity but I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

  11. I used to be very happy to seek out this web-site.I needed to thanks to your time for this excellent read!! I undoubtedly having fun with every little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  12. I’m usually to blogging and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  13. You made some respectable points there. I regarded on the internet for the difficulty and found most individuals will associate with together with your website.

Leave a Reply

