Views from Sandhausen – Proposed Book Cover


Good day all,

Reports from “Edit me FAST” are positive after the first week.  Apparently my writing skills are good enough to accelerate the process along.  The only down side is that in the process of taking the “Views” from its creation environment (Lotus Notes) into its storage environment (Word 97) and now Word 2007, has introduced interesting changes in the formatting.  Of course, I added to the document all along the way.  Matt is struggling with that.

It is beginning to look as if the Kickstarter effort is a dismal failure.   You will not be charged if we do not hit our goal; you will be listed in “Views from Sandhausen” as a supporting contributor.  I may ask you to help with the cost if you still want a copy.  I’m a struggling author on a fixed income 🙂

Here is my proposed cover for the book.  It is a shot I took from the Sandhausen school (1-12) front steps looking towards the ‘shopping district’.  Our favorite restaurant is to the right of the shot (out of sight).  I’m sure that AuthorHouse will provide me with a professional cover that looks far better than this one that I crafted in PowerPoint.  It is my intent to use the photo if possible.  Having said that, I’ve paid for professional design help and I have no desire to walk away from a blockbuster idea.

Fountains are more than decoration in Europe; they serve as drinking devices as well as hand-washing stations, and can be usually found in front of public buildings, such as here.

I need to get back to the Marketing Plan.  It has been in limbo since my recent focus on the manuscript itself.  I have received a lot of help online.  One of the top-shelf resources that I have found is the ‘The Creative Penn’.  Joanna Penn is an Australian author that has been through the wars, and is very generous with providing information to struggling authors.  Of course she is selling her books (I bought one) but I truly believe that she works so hard to ‘give back’ to the industry and those who have helped along the way.

I’ve me a number of folks like that as I’ve wiggled into this literature niche.  I attracts me so much because it is so different from computers and project management and living the corporate life.  And most of all, it keeps me busy and interested in life; something that I sorely needed with Lynn’s passing!

So, with that, it is time to go back to work.  Now I have the challenge of moving this Word document into my blog and activating the hyperlinks.  I still struggle with them because they tend to move to where I don’t want them.  Have a great week all!

5 responses to “Views from Sandhausen – Proposed Book Cover

  1. Looks like things are moving along very well. What a good thing you are doing for yourself (you do need something to do) and for the lovely memory of Lynn! I love the picture you are thinking of using.

  2. Thanks so much for the mention! I really appreciate it and I am very glad to be useful. We’re all on a journey so it’s good to share tips on the way. I wish you all the best for this book. Maybe you could publish it as an ebook first to keep costs down?
    Thanks. Joanna

  3. Pingback: 2010 in Review | FlaAuthor's Blog

  4. I like the helpful info you supply to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more here regularly.

    I am somewhat sure I will be told many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

