Daily Archives: January 24, 2011

A handy beginner’s guide to e-book formats, apps and devices


Originally Posted by: Piotr Kowalczyk

Date January 23, 2011

With credit to Piotr Kowalczyk, the first poster of this chart, originally presented by BookBee.net, and to Joanna Penn of The Creative Penn for reposting this essential guide for all eBook authors,.  When you have time, please take a look at Joanna’s soon-to-be-released novel, Pentecost, available on February 7, 2011.  I have read all of her excerpts so far and the book is just Brilliant!

As I started down the journey of writing Views from Sandhausen, I knew in my gut that I wanted it to be released as soon as possible in eBook format.  My depth of knowledge about eBook formats was essentially the same as yours, nil.  Once I started work with my book’s designer, Walt at Five Rainbows Services, I soon started to see that this evolving standard was both complex and much in a state of flux.  Therefore, this chart is a snapshot in time, the status of eBook formats on this date.  Formats will come and go but all authors, and indeed customers that read on their shiny new eReaders, need this information.

The next Big Thing is Enhanced eBooks.  These books will be sold as applications for your Smartphone, or as eBooks that you either download to your computer/phone, or “lease”, as you do in the Kindle model.  I’m not as big fan of ‘leasing’ my books but it is the only way that company’s like Amazon and Kindle can guarantee that, “If you buy it once, you can read it on any of your devices”.  This can be compelling when you read part of the eBook on the bus or train, during your commute.  Then you can pick up your tablet or PC, and be at the exact same place in your book as you were when you closed your Smartphone on the way home.

Enhanced eBooks.  This is a whole topic in itself and will be the subject of a future post.

Lastly, Views from Sandhausen is receiving GREAT reviews and yesterday we saw the greatest audience that we have seen to date.  Thank you kind readers and I will be focusing on additional topics, in addition to my little project.

Stay warm, and Go Steelers!!!!

Cliff